Update

for those who follow me on Twitter, I do apologise. I’ve been going on a bit about all the pains and niggles I’ve been getting. 

I’ve been wondering if I’m in very early stages of labour. If you don’t want to read some grossness, leave now. I have warned you. 

Over a week ago now we were in tesco and I had a horrendous pain/tightening. The way I likened it to G was that I felt like I was on my period and something major was going on. Off I popped to the loo and when I wiped I had some mucous. It looked like snot and was a bit grim but I took it as a positive. Since then I’ve been getting braxton hicks. They feel weird but aren’t overly painful. 

I’ve been trundling on, I saw the consultant, he seemed pleased with the pains I was describing. 

Yesterday and last night I felt awful. The pain was there and it wasn’t going away. I went to my mums and had a wonderful bath and still had the pain. I went home and went to bed. Several times I woke in the night and felt like I was bleeding. Then I remembered I was pregnant so it wasn’t my period. I’ve always suffered horrendous periods and horrendous period pains. They debilitating. I have to take several strong pain killers to cope and not die in a ball. Always, always before my period my bowls empty in spectacular fashion. Well, my bowls haven’t stopped emptying for 2 days. Originally I thought it was a bug, now, I don’t think that. I think it’s my body clearing itself. 

I took to Twitter and general consensus was phone someone. I managed to get hold of my very favourite midwife who told me to go see her. I love her. She’s ace and so kind. 

She thoroughly checked me. Checked my urine which was showing a trace of protein so she wanted me to do a MSU sample to send off. No problem. She checked my BP, it was beautiful 110/70 which seems to be standard for me whilst pregnant. She explained to me too that with second babies heads don’t engage until women are in active labour. So at least I know it’s now active and imminent. She wanted me to be seen by a doctor though because the period pain had moved around to my back. The ANC were too busy so I had a GP appointment. GP checked my vitals, all fine. Happy with baby too. She said there is a lot of baby in there. She said that the stabbing in my urethra when baby moves is him pressing on something he shouldn’t. I thought that anyways. She also said the bowl movements could be caused by him pressing on something, but equally it could be my body preparing. She said not a lot could be done until the MSU came back but she isn’t totally convinced it’s an infection. In fact she wasn’t entirely sure what was going on. She said that I’m coming up to term (Friday/tomorrow, I’m 37 weeks) so it could well be baby. 

The pain subsided this afternoon but right now it’s back. It’s in my back though and seems to fade in and out a bit. I do know baby is partially back to back so maybe that’s why. I’ve had a few tightenings that have taken my breath away. I am positive that my body is wanting to get this baby out. I think he wants to come out. I’m sure I won’t reach my DD. I am trying to trust my instincts. It’s hard when I don’t have anything to compare it too. Induction pains, from what I remember, felt nothing like this. 

Operation #gettingthisbabyout is happening. Have all crossed for me, and apologies if I annoy you. 

Leave a Reply

