You, me and SPD cont. 

Today I went for my physio appointment. I’m not going to lie, I wasn’t expecting much and to be fair to the lovely physiotherapist she said there wasn’t a lot they could offer me. 

She assessed me by looking at my back and the position of my hip and pelvis. At least I now know why I am in such agony, my pelvis has shifted and rotated. It’s causing a severe imbalance. She asked me to turn and do various things before grtting up on the bed. The compressed my pelvis area to see if that helped any, it didn’t. She said because of the position it’s gone in to a pelvic belt wouldn’t really offer much help. I knew this from last time. I explained that sleeping was especially problematic and she was very understanding. 

So, what have they done to help? Crutches. I have crutches for the next 10 weeks. She said for me to have a chat with the midwife because going over term really won’t help. This is a conversation I will be having with the consultant. Honestly, considering the agony I am in, I am seriously considering asking for an elective c section. I can’t see how I’m going to labour this time. I also don’t want to do any more damage. 

The physiotherapist has also left my file open so if after delivery and a few months down the line the pain hasn’t gone they will be able to help. They’re restricted on what they can do at the moment because baby is in the way. 

The advice I was given? Rest. Take it easy. Cut back on activity… What totally impractical advice when I have a 3 year old and an OH who is working all the hours God sends. 

I’ve had a massive cry today because of how exhausted I am and how sore I am. I am feeling so thoroughly misersble and useless. 

So that’s where we are, crutches, painkillers and trying to cope. 

I am pretty sure I haven’t helped my situation with potty training M but it really needed to be done and seeing as he’s picked it up so quickly it shouldn’t cause too much stress and strain now. For now, the hoovering will have to wait though, I can’t do that at the moment. 

Leave a Reply

