Delving in to the unknown

I have been super lucky recently and have been asked to test out the TomTom runner cardio via The Running Bug. This amazing bit of kit is a state of the art GPS running watch with a build in heart rate monitor.

IMG_5594.JPG

Isn’t it pretty?
Now I’m really new to GPS watches and was a little worried I’d break it some how. I’m notoriously clumsy. I don’t think it’s possible to break this though. It’s light but feels exceptionally well built. It was very easy to get set up. I was under the impression that I had to connect it to the computer straight away but this seems to not be the case.

IMG_5600.JPG

The only downside for me so far was that it didn’t include a plug for it to charge. I don’t know why this has bothered me so much, considering you don’t get a plug with so many gadgets these days, but when you consider the retail value of the watch, I feel I’d expect a plug.
Ao once plugged in and connecting and filling out the necessary bits (which took 5 minutes tops) it was time to sign in to, or creat a mysports login. If you already use mapmyfittness etc. you’re away to go as the mysports app is made by the se people. At the moment though there isn’t an android app, only an iOS app. This isn’t an issue for me as we are apple obsessed in the house, I don’t think it would have been an issue anyway though because connecting it to the laptop was just as easy.

What’s cool is that when the heart rate monitor is on you get an ethereal green glow. Very pretty (I like pretty things)

IMG_5609.JPG

Now I’m going to mention size. As I said before I’ve never had a GPS watch so don’t really have anything to compare to. It is big, but I’ve always loved chunky watches. I have been fortunate enough to see someone else post a comparison picture between the TomTom runner cardio and a garmin and the TomTom is smaller and more attractive.

IMG_5610.JPG

Others may say aesthetics aren’t important, but I think it has to look of and this does. It’s also customisable. You can buy replacement watch straps to make it more individual to you. I’ve already gone and bought a dark pink and black strap. The dark pink looks more purple that pink from the pictures and I’m a big purple fan.
Playing around and navigating through the watch was easy and even the most technophobic of people would be able to get to grips with it.
I used the alarm this morning to wake me up for work and the vibrating feature is great. This is something I love about my fitbit, so for my watch to do it too is ace, really should be able to wake up now without waking the OH up.
My next task is to actually go for a run with it. This excites me no end. It means I can leave my phone at home and just use my ipod instead.
So far massive thumb up for this very impressive bit of kit.
Have you for a GPS watch? How does it help you? Have you got a TomTom runner cardio? What do you think?

I have been sent this watch to review and test out. All views are my own

3 thoughts on “Delving in to the unknown

  1. This looks really smart! I’m not one for running to be honest, my joints can’t take it as I’m double jointed in my legs and feet/ankles.

    I’ve nominated you and your blog for a One Lovely Blog award over on my blog. I’d love if you would take part and I look forward to reading your post 🙂

Leave a Reply

