The Judas Scar

I have just finished reading the judas Scar by Amanda Jennings. I have read several brilliant reviews of this book from various links and blogs which is what made me want to read it. That, and the blurb sounded really interesting and gripping.

The book has three main characters; Will, his wife Harmony and Luke.
It’s an intriguing read full of secrets, hurt, betrayal and raw emotions.
Sent to a boarding school at the tender age of eight, Will struggles to fit in until he becomes friends with Luke. One horrific afternoon results in the expulsion of Luke and the heartache and scars being carried through long into adulthood. Just how much bottling up can one person take until they reach breaking point?

I loved this book. The characters were all wonderfully portrayed and I felt I knew each of them. I could really picture Harmony meeting Luke for the first time and the utter sense of shock and dread when Will encountered Luke for the first time.

The very real emotions I felt for these characters demonstrates to me how fabulous the book was. The anger I felt towards Emma and Ian was over whelming. The devastation I felt for Harmony as she described her miscarriage made my heart break.

It’s impossible to go into too much detail without spoiling parts of the book for others, which is something I wouldn’t want to do.
The topics this book raises are very of the moment after several stories have been in the press over the last year. It’s fabulous and shocking and raw. Very well written and a book I would quite happily read all over again. My only criticism was that the ending happened too soon. Can that even be a genuine criticism? I just felt that after it had smouldered and built up pace and expertly timed that the ending could have lasted that little while longer. Perhaps it’s just the fact I didn’t want it to end, but the events leading to the end happened in to quick a succession for me. Despite this feeling I would still give this 5/5.
If you haven’t read The Judas Scar yet, why the heck not? Go buy it and get thoroughly lost in the complicated woven link that is Will, Harmony and Luke’s life.

I bought this book for my own enjoyment and love of reading, I have reviewed it simply to pass on what I think of it and to encourage others to read awesome books

5 thoughts on “The Judas Scar

  1. Emma Perry | My Book Corner says:

    Endings coming too soon is most definitely valid. My last book has taken me a loooooong time to read, I kept putting it down as I reached those final chapters just to make it last longer!!!
    #readwithme

Leave a Reply

