The week that ended with a flop

I was going to blog yesterday but I was too annoyed at myself.
As you know I’ve entered a 10K so I’ve been training for that. It’s been week 1 this past Saturday to Wednesday.
Day one went excellently, equally day two was awesome. I powered round. I nearly forgot to take my two minute walking break. The music I was listening to really helped me go for it.
Then came yesterday.
First off I was suppose to be up at 7 and done by half 7, no. I ignored my alarm. Rushed around to get M to pre school, rushed around so much I didn’t allow myself time to walk him in so had to drive.
I get home from the preschool run and feel congested and gross. Hay fever, politely do one.
I took my piriton, shoved the nasal spray up in a vain attempt to be able to breath, put my running kit on and away I went.
It was humid, muggy, my nose was running like a tap, my eyes were streaming. My muscles ached, I felt rubbish. I was supposed to run two miles. I ran one and gave up. I am still cross at myself. I feel I’ve failed the first hurdle. Due to this being an 8 week programme and having 11 weeks till race day I’ve decided to give week one another turn. I’m just mad that I gave up, but it was a set of circumstances that made me stop. I was in bed by 6.15 asleep by 8.30 at the latest with wads of tissue up each nostril to stop the streaming.
Today isn’t much better hay fever wise as today I have a headache. I’m cross, but at least I got out there and did something. Today and tomorrow are rest days. I have mostly walked around today.
So week one of training a roaring success met by crushing disappointment. Onward and upwards as they say.

4 thoughts on “The week that ended with a flop

  1. I just did my first 5k and for me it was an issue with finding the time to do it. I was mad at myself. I wish I had trained harder. It sounds to me like you are on the right track. You are out there and doing it. Don’t get to upset that you had stop. I probably wouldn’t even have gone out that day not feeling well to begin with. Lol! There is still tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

