This month I read

Bit late to my blog post for the lovely Muttering Mummy’s monthly round up of the books that we’ve read.
This is probably going to be rather cobbled together as I attempt to rush to join in.

I have already reviewed a book that I read just after May’s round up. It’s a book by Tina Seskis called One Step Closer, rather than regurgitate what be already said I’m going to include a little link to it here
This month I’ve also read The Hive by Gill Hornby.
It’s basically about a group of women who are all mothers. Their children all attend St Ambrose school and it all centres around that one mum who everyone wants to be friends with. She is the infamous B who manages to get all her little workers to do all her biding because she’s too “busy busy” to do it herself.
I really liked this book. My favourite character being Georgie because she really couldn’t give a toss. There have been some really negative reviews around this book on good reads but I really enjoyed it. I liked all the bee metaphors and found it a really easy and pleasant read.

The last book I am going to review is a bit special. Well in my eyes it’s a bit special. It’s a book by Julie Cohen and it’s called Dear Thing.
The tag line is “what would you say to the child that could never be yours?”
Pretty poignant stuff right?
It’s about Romily and her best friend Ben, and his wife Claire. After years of watching them struggle for their one wish, Romily offers herself as a surrogate. What she wasn’t counting on was the overwhelming sense of love she felt for the baby she carries and how her feeling get in the way of her pragmatic view on life in general. To quote the blurb on the back of the book “now there are three friends, two mothers and only one baby, and an impossible decision to make….”

This book is incredible on so many levels and written in a beautiful way. It was engaging, thought provoking and everything I’d hoped it would be, and more!
I laughed and cried and felt bereft when I finished the book. It really is a treasure to behold.
It asks so many questions and challenges so many things. It’s a must read and my pick of my bunch this month.

2 thoughts on “This month I read

  1. I have previously read One Step Closer and I really enjoyed it!!! I’ve heard good things about The Hive but have to admit I haven’t got round to reading it yet. The last book you’ve read sounds like it could be a realy emotional read!!! Thanks for linking up with #ReadWithMe I have pinned and tweeted your post. xx

    • emilygoesforit says:

      Dear Thing was beyond emotional. An absolute gem of a book, a very sensitive subject portrayed beautifully.
      The hive is a really easy read, but does have to be one you want to read xx

Leave a Reply

