The day that was Race For Life 2014

Today was my race for life.
Today was the day I totally took myself out of my comfort zone and achieved.

Waking up after working last night was tough going, I felt like I had a hangover minus the alcohol. The nerves already started.
At least I managed to put the running socks on the correct feet, which I do think may have attributed toy initial blister disaster last week.

20140629-205009-75009312.jpg

I had to drop the OH off at a friends so he could get to work (my stupid fault! I booked him in to work without even thinking) and off I trundled, on my own to the lovely Scolton Manor.
I arrived at 9.30 and there were already quite a few people there. I sat in the car panicking because I’d put my number on my back and not on my front like everyone else. This was quickly adjusted as well as sending out a nervous tweet.

20140629-205128-75088502.jpg

My signal disappeared soon after. Not before I saw that I’d been tagged in a lovely Facebook status wishing me luck and telling me to hold my head high.
That was the kick up the bum I needed to go out alone. I dropped my bag of donation goodies off to the donation drop off point (funny that) and took a position near the stage.

20140629-205214-75134801.jpg

20140629-205210-75130449.jpg

Something that I wasn’t expecting to do at the race for life was cry.
My heart broke from the stories that were told, but nothing was quite as hard as the minute silence. Many a person cried and I really struggled to keep it together. I cried for everyone who had lost and who wasn’t with us anymore. I felt drained. The presenter who was from a local radio station reminded us that the people who weren’t here were indeed looking down on us… More tears.
The fun soon started and the atmosphere started to build as we approached the 11am start time.
Here, look at me taking a selfie and then taking one of the presenters taking a selfie. So we were taking a photo of them taking a photo of us. It was quite funny.

20140629-205612-75372016.jpg

20140629-205618-75378459.jpg

I

20140629-205616-75376352.jpg

Next was the cancer slam dance/warm up which everyone took part in! It was ace and I didn’t totally did feel a bit silly doing it, but it was fun.
It was strange because even though I was there alone, not amongst a group or have my family there supporting me, I didn’t feel alone. It was a lovely atmosphere.
We were separated into three groups:
Runners- under 25 mins
Joggers- 25mins to 45 mins
Walkers- over 45 mins

I placed myself in the Joggers, confident I would do it.
The start was delayed but once we got started it was clear to see jostling for position was difficult. Some people jogged a little then started walking. That was frustrating because some of the course was single track and so you were held up.

(I have been reminded by the OH that this was a fun run and as such I shouldn’t be too cross)

It was a really good course though, proper cross country everything was faced and my trainers really did help and do me well.
It was baking hot and some parts of the course were exceptionally exposed, I have new found respect for marathon runners.
I’m not going to lie there were parts I had to walk on because I had outpaced myself. I tried to keep up with women who could jog faster than I could. Or better still overtake them.
So that’s lesson one.
Lesson two was that sun cream was a must as was my bottle of water.
Lesson three was that I really shouldn’t give a whoha about what I look like.
The solidarity was amazing.
The finish was amazing, the clapping, the cheering, the high fives. Wow.
I could easily get addicted to that buzz as well as the amazing sense of achievement!
I completed my 5K in 43 minutes bang on. It was wonderful. I could have done it a little faster had it not been for the obstacles of single track but it was still finished within the allotted jogging time frame. It was still and always will be an achievement and has set a fire inside me.
This is the start.
I want more of these

20140629-210626-75986319.jpg

I am now in the bath basking in my achievement and planning my next event to take part in.
I’ve made the first step in getting a better, healthier lifestyle for me. I am pleasantly addicted to this.
I have also raised £248.00 (a friend have me £5 towards my efforts) which is also phenomenal.
There is still time to sponsor me. If you go to http://www.justgiving.com/emilyamorgan you can make a little donation if you’d like.
Thank you for reading 🙂

4 thoughts on “The day that was Race For Life 2014

Leave a Reply

