This month I read…

This is my this month I read post that I shall be linking up to the lovely @mutteringmummy monthly blog link. It’s a place for you to share all the awesomeness that you have read this last month.

So without further a due, here are the books I have read.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Leuithan
Two teenagers, both of the same name meet in an unexpected corner of Chicago. Both totally different in personality but end up influencing each other’s lives by a mutual love (different types of love) for Tiny Cooper.
Throw in the most amazing musical that’s ever been created and that is Will Grayson, Will Grayson in a small nutshell.
I absolutely adored this book. I am big into teen/young adult novels and this was sent to me as a gift by my awesome little sister. She felt I needed it in my life to cheer me up.
I couldn’t put it down, I laughed and cried and felt it was exceptionally well written. I felt like I was a teenager again, but desperately glad that. Don’t have to go through the toils of being a teenager.
There is so much campiness in the book it’s electrifying and so worth a read. I don’t feel like what I’ve said has done it any justice.

Just what kind of mother are you? Paula Daly
There is a predator on the loose, picking up young pre pubescent girls.
What if your best friends daughter was one of these girls to be taken? What if unlike the others, she wasn’t let go? What if by some awful set of circumstances it turned out to be your fault? This is the situation that Lisa finds herself in.
I enjoyed this book. It’s set in the Lake District, which I enjoyed because I’ve read a lot of American books recently, so it was nice to not read with an American accent in my head.
I have read other reviews of this book and Lisa grates on some peoples nerves. I liked her. I identified with her. She harbours a lot of guilt and is so ridiculously busy something about her resonates in me.
I didn’t guess the ending like others claim to have, I found the twists and turns interesting and intriguing. It also makes you very aware that the life people show you, isn’t always the way it is behind closed doors.

Divergent, Insurgent and Allegiant all by Veronica Roth
I’m lumping all three together, with it being a trilogy and all.
These books are set in a dystopian world where at 16 you have to choose to either live within the faction you have been brought up in, or leave and join another faction. Faction before blood is what all of the members within this society believe. The story centres around Beatrice (Tris) and Four (Tobias) who are divergent, but are they?
As the trilogy goes on many things are revealed.
I loved Divergent and Insurgent. To the point where I annoyed the OH by being up till god knows when reading. They were interesting, fast paced and I quite frankly couldn’t put it down.
I liked learning more about the society they lived in and how the different factions held different aspects of personality in high esteem.
I also enjoyed the love story element too.
I found Allegiant more of a struggle to begin with. Once I’d really started to get into the book again, it seemed as if Veronica Roth was exceptionally aware a deadline was looming and she appeared to rush her writing. This disappointed me as I’d found the trilogy exceptionally strong.
I liked Tris a lot and found her to be an interesting character. The characters that grew through the trilogy were intriguing too.
What really annoyed me as well, which has nothing to do with the books really is that Divergent and Insurgent were £2.50 on the amazon kindle store but Allegiant was double that, plus a little more. It seemed grossly unfair. Like I said though that’s not really a gripe at the books.

If I had to pick one out of the five I managed to read this month I would recommend Will Grayson, Will Grayson without a shadow of a doubt. It was incredible. Everyone needs a bit of Tiny Cooper on their lives.

8 thoughts on “This month I read…

  1. mutteringmummy says:

    Will Grayson, Will Grayson sounds so good and really has me intrigued so I’ve added it to next months list 🙂 I was disappointed when you mentioned about Allegiant costing so much more than the other two. It seems so cheeky but I guess if you have read the first two and enjoyed them you will spend anything to read the third. Thanks for linking up 🙂

    • emilygoesforit says:

      It no problem 🙂 I love the link.
      I was disappointed with amazon to tell you the truth.
      Will Grayson, Will Grayson is just magical haha I hope you enjoy it as much as I did x

Leave a Reply

