The toddler

My toddler is a wonder.
He’s my darling, although he doesn’t want me very much at the moment.
He amazes me, but I worry. I worry far more than daddy does.
M has a temperature: mummy takes temp every few hours to check it’s going down
M has a temperature: daddy says M feels a bit warm so he’s removed a later or two

M doesn’t speak very much: mummy panics and try’s to encourage him to speak
M doesn’t speak very much: daddy says don’t worry he will do in his own time

Two examples above of how, this week mummy and daddy differ.

I am a worrier, daddy is so laid back he if practically on the floor.

M has all of a sudden decided the juice, milk, jeep, sheep, done, gone, mr tumble, dirty, uchy (from me saying ych y fi), water and a few others are going his vocabulary.
Eyes, nose, eye brows and ears are now said as well as pointed to. (The pointing has been happening ages, but I had to say them all, now I shave to “ssssssssssshhhhhhhhhhh” and listen.
I am often told no. He answers my questions, he asks for his shoes (that’s another) so he can “go in car” although going in the car is no longer fun it’s all about dees jeep. (Dada is no longer acceptable, it dee, which is daddy, or plain dad when M isn’t being responded too)
Yet I’m terrified his speech isn’t developing at the rate if should be. His understanding is second to non, he can follow complex instructions and can differentiate between his blue jacket and his red coat. He knows what objects are if I ask him to get the dream and his hair brush. He just doesn’t say them.
Am I being over paranoid? I still don’t get called anything (this upsets me) occasionally M will stick d’s in front of everything or b’s.
“Bal bone’ said sounding like all gone.
‘Dream’ for cream
You catch my drift. Not all the time, some if the time.
He can count when I count along with him, but won’t answer when you ask him his age, despite me trying to coach him in this.
I think I’m just a stressy mummy and daddy has the right idea. It will happen when he’s ready, I just don’t like people looking at him like he’s stupid.

Leave a Reply

